This and that in San Felipe

Sunset in San Felipe

Sunset in San Felipe (Photo credit: larock)

 

Winter here in San Felipe MX is often sunny and pleasant with brief encounters of windy and, to us residents, cold weather sometimes reaching into the 40°F. range. Of course with a wind of 20+mph the chill factor come into play. Today it is bright and sunny with a 15-20mph wind out of the North at 55° F. feels cold to my ancient bones. I still went for my walk, not as early as usual-later made for a warmer walk, but the wind was brisk and I felt the chill.

 

I worked on cleaning up my RV yesterday. The poor thing was looking neglected so I did an exterior wash and got a lot of the dust and grime off of the old girl. She needs a professional wash and wax to get her looking presentable again. Sitting about in the salt air, dust, rain and fog is not good for the paint and roof fabric. I may have to do a patch on the rubber roof I’ll go up later and have a closer look, but from the ground it looks like a hole is forming near the front cap. Like almost anything mechanical there is always something to fix. I did run the engine, generator and put the transmission into gear yesterday to get all the fluids moving about. I remembered to run the generator with a load-I use the Air conditioner as the load. I didn’t note any problems; oil pressure came up, alternator charged, generator started right up and provided steady electric power and ran the A/C without a problem so all seems well.

 

I had the steps bent back into alignment so they work now and what is more the mechanic fixed the light that comes on when the steps are extended which very nice. The next repair is to get the house furnace to work properly. The furnace fan comes on with the thermostat however the furnace doesn’t blow hot air just blows air. This alone doesn’t concern me as I have a Wave 6 catalytic heater with an extension hose that keeps the rig reasonably warm in cold weather and uses no electricity, less LP and no noise versus the noisy house furnace. I also installed the step’s carpet so now the entrance looks like and acts like it should …… Yea 🙂

 

I am still searching for my next RV to replace this one and I have found the Blue Bird Wanderlodge site.

 

English: "Large Marge", a 1980 Blue ...

English: “Large Marge”, a 1980 Blue Bird Wanderlodge FC33 taken on Sanibel Island Causeway, Florida USA (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

These RVs have been around a long time and were custom ordered and top of the line RVs in their day. Many are still running after over thirty years of RVing! They started out with gasoline motors and then changed over to diesel and steadily improved on the diesel power plants over the years. Many 70’s rigs are still on the road and some owners have had the same rig for 25 years or more. That says something for the durability and desirability of the BBs. The older model’s interiors seem dated, not a problem for me, but functional. Some of the later models are as modern as anything on the road today. I am intrigued and I want to investigate if the Blue Bird RV would be a good replacement for my present rig so I have joined the owner’s group and hope to educate myself on Blue Bird RVs.

While doing the initial research into Blue Birds I remembered my father Charlie told stories of driving a Blue Bird School Bus in the forties during the winter in Billerica Massachusetts. Charlie thought highly of the Blue Bird Buses and he was a mechanic in those days.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “This and that in San Felipe

  1. Hello my beautiful friend 🙂 I miss the days I spent in San Felipe .. You and all the other wonderful people opened my eyes to another world in soooo many ways.
    My heart felt thoughts are with you now and for always..this lost Aussie girl found a spark of wanting to live a life that seemed unreachable through your eyes :’)
    A million words and thank you’s could never express my gratitude… I wish you every happiness this world could ever give to someone as Beautiful as you :’)
    All my happiness and new found self … I owe to you all .. I’m forever in your debt.. Thank you .. Thank you THANK YOU .. True Blue Sue 🙂 xoxoxox

  2. Dear Sue; Thank you for your kind words, I am so glad you’re following my blog! I’m sure my ramblings are boring at times, but it does keep us in contact and up to date on my coming and going as simple as it is. I hope where ever you go that you find happiness and comfort there are many people ready to give it if we are ready to accept it.
    xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

