She’s Gone ….My Dear Shelby

My dear fur friend is gone she left this life peacefully at 5pm this evening without a whimper like the good dog she had been since I’ve known her. No more wagging tail or nose to poke me for a pet, no more hearing her noises as she slept dreaming dog dreams of running and playing and rolling on the grass or sand, no more looking for treats or handouts. No more trips with her willing doggy grin as she rode along with me to adventures near and far.

My life revolved around her needs as I made sure she was well cared for, kept safe and shown love and kindness. She in return gave unconditional love only a good pet can give. I thank her for that for being a good dog, a good traveling companion I only wish I were as good a human as she thought I was. Our time together wasn’t enough as far as we both were concerned however there comes a time when the human has to stop the pain and suffering of the fur friend even though the pain of loss is so strong. I know I did the right thing but the sadness and loneliness for her furry comfort is just overwhelming tonight.

She lies a few feet from my RV my family helped bury her in the hard dry desert and treated her with respect and kindness and me too. I thank them for that it has helped me get through this loss.

Shelby and I on our walk at the farm how I miss you shelb

21 thoughts on “She’s Gone ….My Dear Shelby

  1. Oh I am so sorry you have lost your best friend. I have been sitting here reading your post with tears running down my face. I feel your heart ache. We all do that are pet owners. They bring so much joy to us. She was lucky to have spent those years with you. So so sorry.

    • Thank you for your comment dogs are our best friends sometimes I know Shelby was one of mine she gave me so much love and only wanted to be close to me and share our life together … can’t beat that deal ….. I miss her so bad…….

    • Thank you Sue true I am hurting, I knew this day would come and I dreaded it. I wanted to keep her well and with me forever, but that is not possible and losing her hurts. I was so lucky to have such a companion; she was ready for every trip and adventure, loved to travel and I enjoyed her spirit and curiosity and love of just enjoying life she loved to roll on the grass which taught me to enjoy the moment you never know when it will be your last.

  2. My deepest sympathies on your loss of Shelby. When I lost my lab Chelsea 12 years ago it was deeply painful. She had been with me through a divorce, 2 moves, and some other big changes. I have a photo of her on my desk to this day.
    I wish you the best my friend.

    • Thank you for your reply and understanding Shelby filled a void in my life and gave me a sacred responsibility that I tried to live up to; the care of another being she in turn took care of me.

  3. My heart goes out to you, my Elsa, white Lab, 10 years old is on her last days, we can only try and make her as comfortable as possible, it’s so very hard for all concerned.
    You and I have to remember the good times together with our best pals, and know they are now not suffering and are romping around Rainbow Bridge with lots of other K-9 friends.
    Sending Woofs n Paws to you and Shelby OXOXOXO

  4. We are so sorry for your loss,we understand the pain and lonliness. It is very hard to see such a faithful companion leave us. We lost Bonita in May this year,her and Shelby no longer have pain.
    Have a g
    ood trip back to SF and don’t look any of the dogs there in the eye as that means I belong to you! And they will follow you everywhere!

  5. I know what you mean there are so many dogs there that need a forever home and many are good dogs who only want to be loved and cared for, I am going to have to be very careful about falling for one. I see other people with their dogs and long for my girl to be at my side too. I need to let some time pass and get back to my usual routine and comfort zone before even thinking about committing myself to another pet. I am not sure, right now, I could do that as my feelings are to raw and the thought of losing another dear dog or cat would be just unbearable. I am glad Shelby and Bonita don’t have any more pain but the loss of their affection is hard to take.

  6. I thoroughly believe we’ll be reunited with our loved ones, including our fur friends, someday. I still feel an ache in my heart for a black Lab who died 17 yrs ago. I thought I would never adopt another dog but one day I looked a chow mix mutt in the eye and it was love at first sight that lasted 12 wonderful years. I hope that kind of love happens to you again, Shelby would not want you to be without it.

    • Yes, she was a marvelous dog so calm and sweet she seemed to get sweeter every year. I can’t help but think of her, and I know it sounds morbid but I go to her grave every night and wish her sweet dreams and tell her I love her and miss her. I guess I have gone a bit balmy in the head.

  7. I just found your blog this morning and I’m so sorry to read that you lost your two pets. We lost our beloved German Shepherd, Rommel, in December of 2011 and I lost one of my beloved horses to colic this December. In the meantime, however, we took in a 6 year old female shepherd, “Lady”, who has wonderful manners and who needed a caring home. I’ll be following your blog from now on!

    • Thank you for your kind comments. Losing a fur friend is hard they give unconditional love and look to us for love and protection their passing leaves a hole in our lives. Yet more animals need a good home. Thank you for adopting another one. Pets improve our lives in so many ways.

Leave a Reply

