Difficult time coming

My dear Shelby my pal for many years is coming to the end of her life her cancer has grown and is ugly she is not eating all her food and she sleeps most of the day. Soon I will have to do the right thing and take her to the vet for the last time. I dread doing it she has been a good dog a great companion and still looks for love from me and I can barely stand  to think of losing her.

Slowly I have come to the realization that I have to do this thing as she should not suffer. She will be so deeply and sadly missed. I can’t imagine getting another pet to replace her. I am getting to old to assure an animal a safe and good home for the rest of their life and I wouldn’t want to pass that responsibility on to family member or friend.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I find it a heavy decision and already I am deeply saddened to loose my friend.

7 thoughts on “Difficult time coming

  1. So sorry you have to go through this. She looks like my dog Colby, same color and size.
    She had a brain tumor and I let her go so she would not suffer. That’s love, to let her go home.
    You will miss her forever, I still feel Colby’s spirit with me even after 15 years and I know when I go home she will be there waiting for me. I can still see the love in her eyes. My son lost his black lab a year ago tomorrow. He is taking the day off to honor and remember her. He had her since she was a baby and he had to have her put to sleep after she had a stroke. She was 13. He is still morning her.
    We all miss our pets, they are family, like our children. We are lucky they can go peacefully, unlike people who are made to suffer. Sending you prayers and the strength to do what you need to do, out of love. We are so lucky to have had the wonderful years with our pets. They love us unconditionally. I’ll be thinking of you both.
    Sharon

    • Sharon,
      Thank you for your comments and you are so right about how we are more loving in some ways in how we treat our pets vs how people are treated. Thank you for your kind thoughts they do help.
      Kay

  2. SO VERY SORRY TO HEAR THIS NEWS- IT IS SO HARD TO LOSE THE FURRY CHILDREN IN OUR LIVES- THEY FILL OUR HEARTS WITH SUCH UNCONDITIONAL LOVE-

Leave a Reply

