Report on the trip south to San Felipe

First thing first; sorry to report no banditos, no gun fire, no threats no real danger just a ho-hum drive through a Mexican city and countryside. Gee I was beginning to look forward to some excitement and as usual “Nadda”.

I left the “Slabs” at Niland Ca. 9am this morning after having coffee at the morning campfire with the other campers. I got lots of well wishes and be careful from lots of folks. All this careful stuff was beginning to pray on my mind. I got to Calexico and stopped at Walmart for some water and some other nonsense then topped of the fuel tank I didn’t want to chance not being able to fill up in a gas station in Mexicali due to my rig’s size. I then proceeded to find the crossing into Mexico and true to my alternate moniker Wrong Way Kay I got turned around and had to back track and toke the correct turn. I finally crossed into Mexico and got into the wrong lane where one of their dog handlers searched my vehicle and then guided me into the correct lane. Another official checked my rig again and I asked him where to get my tourist visa and he pointed out the obvious sign that said Immigration in spanish (Duh).

I was concerned about leaving my rig parked in the inspection lane, but proceeded into the immigration office and no one said a thing, I forgot in Mexico this is common to take up space and not worry about holding others up. The man making out the tourist visas was nice and we got through the process okay then I had to go to the bank to pay for the visa. The bank teller told me that the system was down and another official called the first official and told him what was up and the original official gave me the visa he then when I got to his office he told me to pay for it in San Felipe at any bank. So what could have been a problem was no problem at all πŸ™‚

I asked for directions to San Felipe and I thought I had then down but as I drove along I got this feeling things weren’t right so at a stop light I opened my window and asked a driver next to me how to get to San Felipe and he told me to take the right, right there which was interesting as I was in the middle lane! So I had to hold up traffic till the right lane cleared and I was sure the folks honking were cheering me along. I drove and drove and drove and asked twice more and the response was the same just go straight ahead. Eventually I spotted the sign for San Felipe and breathed a sigh of relief.

The trip was mostly boring except for a version of the road where one has to leave the road and take a detour along the side of the highway on a makeshift gravel road where the entrance to this gravel road was steep and the entrance back onto the highway was steeper yet. I just gunned the old bus and we shot up the embankment and with lots of clattering and banging of stuff in the rig we rock and rolled onto the highway.

There after the road was a two lane highway sometimes with no center stripe or markers on the side of the roadway. I was sure glad I wasn’t driving at night. I wouldn’t do that except under the most dire circumstances as that is just to dangerous in Mexico. About 60 kilometers outside of San Felipe I came to a military check point and the soldiers checked the inside of my rig, they were polite and were amused to find my cat hiding in my shirt closet-no word from the cat how she felt about being petted by a Mexican soldier-she likes men anyway πŸ˜€

I made it to San Felipe about 4pm; I am a slow driver, but I don’t like going fast on strange narrow highways were people pass where ever they like. When I got to the center of town and asked where Kiki’s RV park was I got told they didn’t know of it and one thought it was closed, but a restaurant guy gave me good directions and I found it. I am parked with my rig’s rear on a pad over a beach. I can see the fishing boats from my rig even in the dark as they have their work lights on. Full hookups free wifi on the beach one kilometer from town with an elevated patio $34O a month. I’ll try it at the weekly rate for a week and see if I like it here and then I may pay for a month. The wifi is fast so that makes me happy I have Canadians for neighbors and the seem okay. So, so far so good.

My first impression of the town is “where are the people?” it seems like there are few people here, perhaps the season hasn’t started yet. I’ll check it out and tell you when I post next, also photos πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Report on the trip south to San Felipe

  1. Yay! You made it! Thanks for the speedy report. I’m looking forward to seeing some photos. It sounds like you are in a good spot. You’ll know better tomorrow. What a way to spend Thanksgiving Day! Nice going, KayJulia!

  2. KJ, this is a fascinating post. Thank you so much for having the moxie to travel to Mexico and pave the way for other solo women RVers who want to do the same thing. I don’t even have an RV yet – that’s in the works – but I am fascinated with the thought of Mexico. I posted about my friend Wende who lived in Mexico for about 20 years, moving from fishing village to fishing village. She had guts like you. πŸ™‚ http://joolsjaunts.com/2011/11/22/mi-amiga-wende/
    — Jool

  3. I wonder if that is the same RV Park a solo travel staying in last year for the winter. She loved it.
    Glad you made it without any problems. Can’t wait to see the pictures. Enjoy the sound of the water and smell of the salt air.

Leave a Reply

